Settle for Baylor $$$ or live the dream at Texas????? Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Baylor $$$ or Texas

Baylor
24%
Texas
76%

Total votes: 105

M_F_F_L

New

Settle for Baylor $$$ or live the dream at Texas?????

Post by M_F_F_L » Tue Mar 09, 2010 4:39 pm

Now, before all you cynics start shouting "flame", try to understand the dynamics of my situation.

1) I'm an out of state resident not expecting to receive scholarship money from Texas as it was a reach
2) I'm receiving a full ride to Baylor
3) My family will be unable to contribute any money/I'm completely on my own
4) I'm about 40k in the hole from undergrad (private university)
5) I think I want to do litigation/trial law
6) I'm super debt-averse

It's always been my dream to go to Texas, and it feels surreal to actually be accepted. However, considering the current market, I don't know if I can justify going that far into debt. My biggest concern is not being able to pay the debt once I'm finished. Do UT grads normally worry about this? I know Baylor is a good school, but how do you compare #65 to #15? Does the fact that Baylor is nationally ranked in trial advocacy mean anything? If so, maybe it's the better choice. What do you guys think? Any suggestions on the debt situation?

I don't want to be the d-bag who asks this question but has already made up his mind (you guys all know who I'm talking about). I have not yet made a decision, and I genuinely need advice.

I appreciate the responses!!!

colemf

Bronze

Re: Settle for Baylor $$$ or live the dream at Texas?????

Post by colemf » Tue Mar 09, 2010 5:06 pm

well if your debt adverse and plan on going into trial law i would say Baylor is the correct choice in this one instance, assuming of course you want to stay in Texas(Baylor has a great rep. in Texas) and Baylor has given you a full ride.

JazzOne

Gold

Post by JazzOne » Tue Mar 09, 2010 5:12 pm