Pitt / Duquesne / Akron

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
camron1111

Pitt / Duquesne / Akron

Postby camron1111 » Sun Mar 07, 2010 11:37 pm

I was accepted at each of these three local schools. Akron offered almost full scholly; Duquesne offered approximately 50% tuition; and nothing from Pitt.

I know Pitt is "ranked" higher and carries more weight than the others... but given the costs and other considerations (quality of life), what would you recommend? My first choice would be Pitt (as a WVU graduate I'm almost sick that I just said that), but the scholarships are enticing.

Also, five years after graduation after you've been able to build experience... how much does the degree and institution from which you earned it limit you geographically? in other words... if I chose Akron and graduated, worked in eastern Ohio for a few years, and then tried to come back to somewhere like Western PA, would I still be at a large disadvantage because I didn't get my degree from Pitt or Duquesne?

Any input is greatly appreciated...

eru2

Re: Pitt / Duquesne / Akron

Postby eru2 » Sun Mar 07, 2010 11:43 pm

I can try to help you out here but I don't know if I will be the best at it...

I was a Pitt undergrad and loved it. I didn't really wander over to the Duquesne campus too often because it isn't in a good area and it is enclosed. As for people in Pittsburgh, I am pretty sure all employment prospects would know Pitt>Duquesne around the area. What would the yearly difference be between the two?

I don't know anything about Akron at all except for having been to Cleveland for a few concerts and it seems pretty boring. I would definitely recommend taking the chance and heading for Pittsburgh instead of Ohio.

PS. You better be ready to wear a Pitt jersey for the backyard brawl or you may be shot down at Heinz.

reverendt

Postby reverendt » Sun Mar 07, 2010 11:52 pm