Chicago ($75k scholarship) vs Penn (Levy - $110k scholarship

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Chicago ($75k scholarship) vs Penn (Levy - $110k scholarship)

Chicago ($75k scholarship)
31%
Penn (Levy Scholarship - $110k)
69%

Total votes: 55

cflames7

Chicago ($75k scholarship) vs Penn (Levy - $110k scholarship

Postby cflames7 » Sun Mar 07, 2010 11:33 pm

Some background info:

-I am an international student, so I do not qualify for federal loans (all my loans would need to be financed privately) - so debt is important to my decision
-I want to keep my career options open as much as possible (limited debt will help with this as I could go public interest, big law, business, academia)

-If i live in the USA, New York city, Boston, or California seem to be desirable locations for me (I could see myself in biglaw for a short term to pay of loans, but this career path doesn't appeal to me too much in the long term)
-I would like to live and practice law internationally (atleast for a bit). Possible go to Europe or Asia with an America law firm
-I would also be happy with public interest law (again, international would be good)

With Chicago, I figure I will graduate with $100-$125,000 in debt. With Penn, I figure I will graduate with $60-80k in debt

I appreciate feedback.

im_blue

Re: Chicago ($75k scholarship) vs Penn (Levy - $110k scholarship

Postby im_blue » Sun Mar 07, 2010 11:50 pm

"I am an international student, so I do not qualify for federal loans (all my loans would need to be financed privately) - so debt is important to my decision"
Penn

"I want to keep my career options open as much as possible (limited debt will help with this as I could go public interest, big law, business, academia)"
Chicago

"If i live in the USA, New York city, Boston, or California seem to be desirable locations for me (I could see myself in biglaw for a short term to pay of loans, but this career path doesn't appeal to me too much in the long term)"