Chicago-Kent ($$) or try again next cycle

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

What should I do (read the passage before choosing please thanks)

Kent 20k/year
67%
Try again next cycle
33%

Total votes: 9

PlugInBaby

Chicago-Kent ($$) or try again next cycle

Postby PlugInBaby » Sun Mar 07, 2010 8:04 pm

My current stats are 3.77/161

I am currently a coin flip at my top choice University of Washington, but if that ends up unfavorable I am left with this dilemma...$20k/year from Kent or just trying again next cycle.

Kent was my third choice in this cycle. They are basically cutting the price of tuition in half and in addition I can commute from my current home. They are a solid school with good career prospects in Chicago. If I don't like it there I suppose I can try to transfer to a better school. Also, their offer is appealing since I haven't been able to get ANY job since I graduated college in 2009.

However, I felt I sold myself far too short in this cycle. I applied relatively late to most of my top choices (went complete around early-mid December), I could have done many improvements on my personal statements (not being coy about the adversity I overcame, catering each PS specifically toward each school), and also I feel that I could certainly get at least a two or three point improvement on my LSAT (two sets of logic games threw my rhythm off a bit, I understood the experimental section better). In addition, I have a better idea of what I want in a law school as compared to when I first initially applied back in November. Nor did I give myself a shot at super reaches, reaches, and highly ranked target schools as I mainly fixated on location.

Constructive input would be much appreciated.

voice of reason

Re: Chicago-Kent ($$) or try again next cycle

Postby voice of reason » Sun Mar 07, 2010 8:15 pm