Applying with a GRADUATE DEGREE Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
Lonestar87

New

Applying with a GRADUATE DEGREE

Post by Lonestar87 » Sun Feb 14, 2010 6:23 pm

Hi Guys!! I graduated the University of Washington last year with a 3.1 GPA and I decided to get my Masters in Public Administration at the University of Texas at San Antonio. My Masters GPA is a 4.0 and I will be one semester away from graduating, when I apply this fall in the early decisions. My LSAT score is a 170 and the reason why my GPA was low in college was because my father had severe heart issues which caused him to stop working and it left me to support the family. Towards the end at UW, I was scoring very good grades....but the damage of poor grades and many withdrawals in my early years hurt me. I will state all of this in my personal statement and I have documentation for everything. I even did internships with senators and congressmen.....WHAT ARE MY CHANCES IN GETTING INTO A TOP 20 LAW SCHOOL??? By living in Texas right now, I do qualify for University of Texas at Austin's 70% in state law admissions requirements!!! Keep in mind my GPA is very high in grad school....and I am only 23 years old with an almost Masters....Cornell and UPenn are my biggest wish...What are their chances????

budafied

New

Re: Applying with a GRADUATE DEGREE

Post by budafied » Sun Feb 14, 2010 6:27 pm

The 170 will help you and I would guess someone will bite out of the top 20, probably even T14.

I doubt the 4.0 GPA in grad school will really help you too much. Grad school grades (I'm a grad student now) are highly inflated. Law schools know this. It is ridiculously easy to get a 3.5 in grad school given you actually turn in something when a paper is due. Law schools will know that the difference from your UGPA 3.1 to Grad 4.0 may have more to do with the inflated grades than anything else. But who knows...

Lonestar87

New

Post by Lonestar87 » Sun Feb 14, 2010 6:30 pm