Applying with a GRADUATE DEGREE Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
Lonestar87

New

Applying with a GRADUATE DEGREE

Post by Lonestar87 » Sun Feb 14, 2010 4:52 pm

Hi Guys!! I graduated the University of Washington last year with a 3.1 GPA and I decided to get my Masters in Public Administration at the University of Texas at San Antonio. My Masters GPA is a 4.0 and I will be one semester away from graduating, when I apply this fall in the early decisions. My LSAT score is a 170 and the reason why my GPA was low in college was because my father had severe heart issues which caused him to stop working and it left me to support the family. Towards the end at UW, I was scoring very good grades....but the damage of poor grades and many withdrawals in my early years hurt me. I will state all of this in my personal statement and I have documentation for everything. I even did internships with senators and congressmen.....WHAT ARE MY CHANCES IN GETTING INTO A TOP 20 LAW SCHOOL??? By living in Texas right now, I do qualify for University of Texas at Austin's 70% in state law admissions requirements!!! Keep in mind my GPA is very high in grad school....and I am only 23 years old with an almost Masters....

bees

Bronze

Re: Applying with a GRADUATE DEGREE

Post by bees » Sun Feb 14, 2010 4:54 pm

GPA from grad school doesn't matter. Your GPA is a 3.1. So go plug 3.1 and 170 into some law school calculators and see what comes out.

Lonestar87

New

Post by Lonestar87 » Sun Feb 14, 2010 4:55 pm

Yeah but shouldnt it play a factor somewhere to prove that I am good student who deserves a chance...

JordynAsh

Bronze

Post by JordynAsh » Sun Feb 14, 2010 4:57 pm

Lonestar87 wrote:Yeah but shouldnt it play a factor somewhere to prove that I am good student who deserves a chance...