What is the general view of UNC law on TLS?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
TarHeel2010

What is the general view of UNC law on TLS?

Postby TarHeel2010 » Sun Jan 31, 2010 7:53 pm

There are certain schools like the obvious HYS and random others such as UVA, GUCL, MICH that are talked about constantly on TLS. I get this as many people here have the numbers for those schools. For someone shooting more in the 30-40 range what is everyones view on UNC? Im an NC resident, I love the campus and plan to practice in NC.....

vanwinkle

Re: What is the general view of UNC law on TLS?

Postby vanwinkle » Sun Jan 31, 2010 7:56 pm

TarHeel2010 wrote:Im an NC resident, I love the campus and plan to practice in NC.....

If all of these are true then UNC is probably the right choice for you, regardless of what anyone else thinks. There will be arguments against it, but most of those will be along the lines of "you should shoot for a higher-ranked school because it will give you better job placement". But it's likely that either 1) you can't get into a higher-ranked school or 2) T14-caliber numbers would also get you a significant scholarship at UNC.

So UNC is probably a good target to aim for. Not necessarily for everyone, but for you, yeah, probably.

showNprove

Postby showNprove » Sun Jan 31, 2010 8:07 pm

Last edited by showNprove on Sat Feb 26, 2011 5:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Rowinguy2009

Postby Rowinguy2009 » Sun Jan 31, 2010 8:09 pm

It seems that most people agree it has a solid reputation. It does very well in the NC market and has a little bit more prestige than its ranking suggests. If you want big-law you'll probably have to be top 10-15% of your class, maybe a little lower depending on the state of the economy.

At the same time, it does not have any kind of national reach.