Notre Dame vs. William & Mary vs. Fordham Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

William & Mary vs. Notre Dame vs. Fordham @sticker

William & Mary
22%
Notre Dame
50%
Fordham
28%

Total votes: 262

jwrit07

New

Notre Dame vs. William & Mary vs. Fordham

Post by jwrit07 » Sat Jan 30, 2010 8:24 pm

This is my first time posting on TLS, I have been a long time lurker. I value a lot of the insight TLS users seem to have and more or less everyone seems to be on the same page.

I have the option of attending Notre Dame, William & Mary, or Fordham all at sticker price. Like almost everybody else I desire to do BIGLAW preferably in DC, Chicago, NYC, Cali, or Texas. So far I am leaning between Notre Dame or W&M (slight edge to ND) but am a little concerned about W&M's BIGLAW placement (I just cant find enough stats on it). Initially Fordham was my dream school but it seems to have taken a huge hit in this economy. Any insight would be greatly appreciated. (Please explain answers in detail)

OperaSoprano

Gold

Re: Notre Dame vs. William & Mary vs. Fordham

Post by OperaSoprano » Sat Jan 30, 2010 8:40 pm

If you want NYC biglaw, come to Fordham hands down. It's the city itself that has taken a hit, so that basically hurts all schools that serve this market. Firms are still hiring (a bunch came here for our employer receptions, including a V5 that I had assumed was staffed by HYS types). Now that the banks seem to be reviving, perhaps firms that serve them will respond in kind.

If you don't mind working in the midwest, ND is very credited, but they are suffering too, according to current students. It's hard to know what's going to happen, but all three schools are very solid choices, and you should make your selection by region.

jwrit07

New

Post by jwrit07 » Sat Jan 30, 2010 8:50 pm