UGA Law or UF Law?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
T_Easy

UGA Law or UF Law?

Postby T_Easy » Fri Jan 22, 2010 10:24 pm

I'm a GA resident who has been accepted to UGA (no scholarship), and who's application is under review at UF.

Assuming I get accepted to UF (no scholarship), I have a little dilemma. I want to live and practice in Florida. I know that UF would provide me the best opportunity to do that. However, I'm really reluctant to pay 33K for out-of-state tuition, and I've heard its gotten increasingly difficult to gain residency in Florida. I've been accepted to UGA, which is higher ranked than UF, and since I'm a resident I obviously qualify for their great 14K in-state tuition.

I've looked at UGA class of 2008's employment statistics, and only 2 graduates got hired in Florida. For the class of 2007, 10. These numbers are not promising, plus their salaries numbers were unimpressive.

Three choices:

1.Give up on your plans to live in Florida, attend UGA, and go for their great placement in Atlanta and D.C.

2.Go to UGA, and still try to live and practice in Florida

3.Go to UF

What would you do?

Grizz

Re: UGA Law or UF Law?

Postby Grizz » Fri Jan 22, 2010 10:32 pm

School? wrote:I would go to UGA to take advantage of the low tuition...then try to get a job in florida..and if you can't.. then you can work in Atlanta.... I'd rather have that then going to florida, not getting a job in florida, and being far in debt and unemployed...

+1

You can get a job in FL I'm sure if you have very good UGA grades. This would definitely help you break into the FL market. I suspect that the reason the numbers of people from UGA getting jobs in FL are so low is because most UGA people want to stay in GA (strong ATL market being a big reason).

Debt is real. This is 42K vs 99K. Massive difference.

beesknees

Postby beesknees » Fri Jan 22, 2010 10:40 pm

Last edited by beesknees on Sat Dec 04, 2010 6:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

TTH