Law School
Admissions
Law
Schools
Law
Students
TLS
Forums

Forum Archives Index     Forum Archives Search     Leave Archives and Visit Active TLS Forums

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 11 posts ] 
 Post subject: what's it like to be a lawyer
PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 3:11 am 

Archived Posts: 89
Hi, can anyone here tell me, what kind of job options you get straight out of a top law school like columbia, Harvard, NYU? What are the range of hours. pay, is it feasable to do a lot of work from home? I'd really appreciate any advice here that is based on real information, not just hunches, before I spend three years in school, go way into debt etc.

thanks

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 9:30 am 

Archived Posts: 99
I'm not a lawyer yet, but the link below might give you a little insight. It gives a lot of information about the BigLaw firms in the US. It also shows what campuses they interview on, and what thier 1 year and summer salaries are.

http://www.nalpdirectory.com/

Post subject: depends
PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2006 6:15 am 

Archived Posts: 1
you have several career options but it all depends on your personality, what kind of person you are ...
Becoming a lawyer could be quite a good choice, nut keep in mind that there are two types of lawyes as payment is concerned: low-paid and 'partners' ...
If you choose to be a lwayer, make sure you have the potential to be a good one.

DeySot
An Idea Ahead

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2006 8:35 pm 

Archived Posts: 5
[plants tongue firmly in cheek]

For another insight into life as a lawyer you may want to consider reading this blog:

http://anonymouslawyer.blogspot.com/

[/removes tongue from cheek]

Post subject: Hours
PostPosted: Sun Jul 30, 2006 8:58 pm 

Archived Posts: 1320